David Allen

Do What Matters

Long Exposure Rocket Launch, Dragon CRS-2 SpX-27

Last night, SpaceX successfully launched another Falcon 9 rocket topped with a Dragon cargo capsule bound for the International Space Station. As a life-long resident of the Space Coast of Florida, rocket launches are a normal occurance. The most spectacular typically take place at night.

Since the beginning, photographers have worked to capture incredible images of these monster events. Even a "small" rocket is still a sight to behold. Capturing the epic power and light generated by a rocket bound for space in a single frame is a daunting task to get right, but the rewards are worth the time and effort.

I have only attempted to capture a long-exposure photo of a night launch (commonly called a "streak" shot) twice. Last night was my second attempt. Some clouds interfered about halfway through the first stage burn, but it was still a spectacular night launch when witnessed in person. I was approximately 40 miles south of the launch site on the Indian River Lagoon.

This image below is a quick iPhone snap that I grabbed while the shutter was open on my DSLR.

SpaceX rocket launch at night, the orange glow of the rocket plume reflecting on the water from the river in the foreground. A black digital camera on a tripod in the foreground captures the event.

I haven't offloaded the images from my camera memory card yet, but I intend to do that this weekend. As this is only my second attempt at a streak shot, I don't have high hopes for the output. However, I learned a lot in the half-hour that I was setting up to capture the photo, and I will learn a lot more from the output.

Stay tuned for the results - for better or for worse. I'll post more about my experience (and those in the future) soon.


Recent posts